My Rails Development Environment, version 1: vim and screen

Lately I’ve changed the way I manage the code on my Rails projects; this is the overview on how I did it for the past two years.

I’ve used vim since my first programming job eight years ago. I’ve use it for email, papers, programming, notes—anything. I instinctively hit escape when I finish typing; my blog posts are filled with j, :wq, and a; my .vimrc represents five jobs and the seven programming languages used in those.

So, of course, my text editor for Rails was vim.

The next issue was that I had to bounce between editing files in five directories; running ./script/console, svn ci, ./script/generate, and ./script/server; looking at the database; and managing the images, JavaScript, and CSS. Vim was good, but I needed fewer keybindings. So, I finally learned screen.

After a bunch of customization, this is what I have:

~/.zshrc:

alias scrails='screen -c ~/.screenrc-rails'

~/.screenrc-rails:

hardstatus alwayslastline %w
screen -t controllers 0 sh -c 'cd app/controllers; zsh'
screen -t models      1 sh -c 'cd app/models; zsh'
screen -t views       2 sh -c 'cd app/views; zsh'
screen -t project     3
screen -t db          4
screen -t public      5 sh -c 'cd public; zsh'
screen -t schemae     6 sh -c 'cd db/migrate; zsh'
screen -t server      7

~/.vim/plugin/rails.vim.

3 Comments

  1. Idetrorce
    Posted December 15, 2007 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  2. Posted February 7, 2008 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    Dull as ditchwater, but I concur completely!

  3. Posted September 21, 2010 at 3:35 am | Permalink

    Be not indignant that you cannot create others as you predisposition them to be, since you cannot make tracks yourself as you wish to be


