My Rails Development Environment, version 2: Scribes, Nautilus, and gnome-terminal

On a whim I tried Scribes for a day. It’s not terrible: autosaving, keyword completion, templates, syntax highlighting, and a sleek look. There’s a lot I miss from vim, but after two weeks of Scribes I’m mostly adjusted. (I really, really, really look forward to the autosave misfiring fix.)

At first I thought I couldn’t do a Rails project with Scribes because, since it’s not command-line, I couldn’t use screen. Discovery: I can replace screen with a mix of Nautilus and gnome-terminal.

Nautilus offers a beautiful tree view of the whole project. Any file can be rather easily selected and opened, via mouse or keyboard. The non-file stuff, such as databases, local servers, and Rails scripts, can be run from a gnome-terminal with three tabs (./script/server, psql, and a catch-all tab).

Nautilus, Scribes and gnome-terminal

The limitations are: I have a lot of models and, as such, they’re tedious to find. Also, I still have to use the terminal. I’ll fix these limitations in the third post.

2 Comments

  1. Jim G
    Posted July 11, 2007 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    have you ever tried rails.vim instead? vim, but it understands rails project layouts such that you can find related files automagically.

    http://wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails/pages/HowtoUseVimWithRails

  2. Posted July 18, 2007 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

    I tried it but it disrupted my workflow in a way that I couldn’t wrap my head around.


